top of page

Shrimp and Creamy Grits with Cajun Roasted Okra “Fries”



I lived in New Orleans growing up, so let me tell you, I LOVE creamy shrimp and grits. It can take several steps to achieve the creamy, traditional real deal, but I’ve made it just a little easier!


I’ve also added a little twist on the classic, and used polenta instead of traditional white corn grits. I just love the texture of polenta, and my new secret to keeping your polenta (or grits for that matter!) extra creamy - riced cauliflower! It’s a super easy way to sneak in extra veggies, and the extra moisture from the cauliflower keeps the grains moist.


The shrimp and grits pairs beautifully with okra “fries”! If you love fried okra, you’ll love these. Slice them in half lengthwise, and roast them until crispy. You won’t even miss the breading!


I even like to use frozen okra, and lightly thaw it before slicing. It’s super fresh and yummy this way!


As always, let me know what you think on Instagram @sugarandsalt_co!



7 views0 comments
bottom of page