top of page

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cookies



Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are the thing dreams are made of. Who doesn’t love a giant, warm, bakery style cookie? With the holiday season in full effect, I am feeling all the gingerbread love!


I decided to create these cookies as am homage to my favorite cookie but with a holiday twist! Plus, this dough freezes beautifully, so you can pull out just a few at a time to bake! If you don’t want giant cookies, you can certainly use a smaller scoop. It will make quite a few cookies, so be prepared for that. It would also make wonderful holiday gifts for teachers, etc.


When I make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, I do love to use rolled oats, instead of quick cooking oats. I just think the texture is better. Also, don’t skimp on the chocolate chips! The richness of the chocolate chips with the bite from the ginger is a perfect balance! Plus, there is just a touch of saltiness, which balances out the sweetness from the brown sugar.


Basically, this oatmeal chocolate chip cookie is perfection in a bite!


This oatmeal chocolate chip cookie utilizes the traditional creaming method when preparing the recipe. The important thing to remember is that you do not want to beat your sugar and butter too much. This will put too much air in the cookie dough, which creates a fluffier cookie. I prefer a chewy soft cookie, myself!


Be sure to allow plenty of time when making this recipe, as you’ll want to let it chill for at least 2 hours once you’ve scooped the dough!


You also want to watch the bake time closely. With the molasses in this cookie dough, it’s already pretty dark, which makes it tough to tell when it’s browned the perfect darkness. The cookies will look like they are still slightly underbaked in the center. That’s exactly what you want for the perfect soft bakery-style cookie.


You can always cut this recipe in half, if you don’t want to make this many cookies. However, it does freeze really well, so I recommend making the full recipe!


Traditional oatmeal chocolate chip cookies do not have whole wheat flour in them, but since I like to add in a somewhat healthy swap to most of my recipes, I added it in here. I think it’s perfect!


Enjoy, and as always, let me know what you think over on Instagram @sugarandsalt_co!



6 views0 comments
bottom of page