top of page

Homemade Pesto Sauce



I don’t know very many people who don’t adore a good pesto sauce. During the summer months, especially, we have a ton of basil on hand, so what better use than a traditional pesto sauce!


I like to add a bit of parsley to my pesto sauce to brighten up the flavors even more. Plus, I have it growing in abundance as well, so why not?!


Some things to note:


Notice I provided a range for the olive oil, because the moisture level of herbs and cheese can vary slightly, so you may need to add a bit more.


If you do not have a food processor, you can absolutely use a blender. This will produce a more smooth sauce than a chopped sauce, but to me both are perfectly acceptable!


You might notice that this recipe calls for walnuts instead of pine nuts. I love pine nuts, but they can be difficult to find, pricey, and they go rancid pretty quickly. Walnuts add a little bit of extra nuttiness, are easier to find, and they last longer sitting on your shelf.


There are so many wonderful uses for pesto. I love to roast salmon that has been smeared with pesto sauce. It can also be used over pasta, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash or your favorite gluten free option. A new favorite use is on my Pesto Roasted Whole Chicken recipe. I don’t know why it took me so long to think about using pesto for this chicken, but it was divine!


I hope you enjoy this pesto sauce. I would love to know what you think about this recipe and how you used it over on Instagram @sugarandsalt_co!



14 views0 comments
bottom of page