top of page

Air Fryer Pesto Roasted Whole Chicken



I love pesto, and there isn’t a dinner much easier to make than whole roasted chicken. I finally got up the nerve to try it in the air fryer, and it was so easy!


First, I made my Homemade Pesto Sauce, because I had so much fresh basil in my garden! Next, I slathered the chicken underneath the skin with pesto and then rubbed it all over the skin.


Next, I placed the chicken in the air fryer, breast side down at 390°F for 20 minutes. I then flipped the chicken over, breast side up, at 390°F for 30-40 minutes, depending on the size of the chicken.



Once the chicken reaches 165°F, it is done. Don’t forget to let the chicken rest for at least 15 minutes before serving. Cutting it too soon will allow the juices to escape, and you will be left with dry chicken, and nobody has time for that!


I served this with a corn and roasted okra salad. That recipe is coming soon!


I would love to know what you thought of this over on Instagram @sugarandsalt_co!








6 views0 comments
bottom of page